Why is 508 compliance important?

What is Section 508? Section 508 was made part of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 in 1998. Its purpose is to “… require Federal agencies to make their electronic and information technology (EIT) accessible to people with disabilities.”

Section 508 and Section 501 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 are often confused with each other. Section 508 requires that the federal government procure, create, use and maintain ICT that is accessible to people with disabilities, regardless of whether or not they work for the federal government.

Similarly, what makes a website 508 compliant? 508 Compliance is shorthand for a law that requires federal government websites to be safe and accessible for people with disabilities. Nearly 20% of all Americans have some kind of disability; about half of those are considered to be severe disabilities.

Also to know is, who must comply with Section 508?

The law (29 U.S.C § 794 (d)) applies to all Federal agencies when they develop, procure, maintain, or use electronic and information technology. Under Section 508, agencies must give disabled employees and members of the public access to information comparable to the access available to others.

What does section 508 apply to?

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act (29 U.S.C. § 794d) requires federal agencies to develop, procure, maintain or use Information and Communications Technology (ICT) that is accessible to people with disabilities – regardless of whether or not they work for the federal government.

How is accessibility testing done?

Accessibility Testing is defined as a type of Software Testing performed to ensure that the application being tested is usable by people with disabilities like hearing, color blindness, old age and other disadvantaged groups. It is a subset of Usability Testing.

Is Section 508 required?

Section 508. Section 508 requires that all website content be accessible to people with disabilities. This applies to Web applications, Web pages and all attached files on the Intranet, as well as, the Internet. The Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO) is responsible for HHS Section 508 Compliance.

What is the difference between ADA and Section 508?

Ultimately, ADA protects the civil rights of persons with disabilities participating in interstate commerce; whereas Section 508 is a set of regulations related to access to Government ICT. 508 compliance provides accessibility for digitally published material within government agencies and entities.

What is Section 508 compliance testing?

Section 508 Compliance Testing Tools & Checklists. Published: July 12, 2019. Section 508 is an important amendment to The Rehabilitation Act that protects the right of people with disabilities to have equal access to electronic and information technology.

What is ADA and 508 compliance?

The Americans with Disability Act (ADA) and Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act both ensure that all people have equal access to goods, services, and communication. Section 508 is specific to Information Communication Technology for federal government agencies and services.

What is Vpat compliance?

The Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT) is a document which evaluates how accessible a particular product is according to the Section 508 Standards. It is a self-disclosing document produced by the vendor which details each aspect of the Section 508 requirements and how the product supports each criteria.

What are the four Web Content Accessibility Guidelines?

Principles – At the top are four principles that provide the foundation for Web accessibility: perceivable, operable, understandable, and robust. See also Understanding the Four Principles of Accessibility. Guidelines – Under the principles are guidelines.

What is the 508 refresh?

The Section 508 refresh of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1973 jointly updates and reorganizes the Section 508 standards in response to market trends and innovations, such as the convergence of technologies.

What is the accessibility?

Accessibility is the practice of making your websites usable by as many people as possible. We traditionally think of this as being about people with disabilities, but the practice of making sites accessible also benefits other groups such as those using mobile devices, or those with slow network connections.

What does digital accessibility mean?

Digital accessibility is the ability of a website, mobile application or electronic document to be easily navigated and understood by a wide range of users, including those users who have visual, auditory, motor or cognitive disabilities.

Is WCAG 2.0 a legal requirement?

In 2017, Section 508 was revised with the requirement that by January, 2018, all federal agencies and contractors must, among other revisions, comply with WCAG 2.0 A/AA. So in the context of federal government agencies, the answer is simple: WCAG is formalized under law as the accessibility standard.

What is the concept of universal design?

Universal Design is the design and composition of an environment so that it can be accessed, understood and used to the greatest extent possible by all people regardless of their age, size, ability or disability.

Does section 508 apply to local government?

Section 508 applies to any federal government website and the site of any organization doing business with the federal government or accepting federal funds. Most local governments meet this criteria, thus they’re legally required to comply with Section 508.